Copy this code and paste it between the and tags of your site:

2nd Edition: Akure Divisional Renewal Group Presents Cheques to indigent students


Six indigent JSS students from six secondary schools in Akure speaking local government areas of Ondo State today received educational support as a non political group, Akure Divisional Renewal Group rewarded their academic excellence with scholarship.

At the event held St. James C.A. C Mega School, Akure, the founder, HRM, Chief Luyi Rotimi, the Olujigba of Ijigba said the scholarship programme was instituted to assist indigent students and encourage them to move forward in their educational pursuits.

Chief Rotimi who noted that the scholarship is a gesture to reward academic excellence of indigent students who are indigenes of Akure speaking communities, said he was a beneficiary of a similar gesture thus the need to give back to others.

While congratulating the beneficiaries, Chief Rotimi said the gesture will go a long way in assisting the government to move education forward in the state just as he urged other similar organizations to.emulate the gesture.

He also used the opportunity to thank all members for sacrificing.their time and resources towards making the programme a success.

Giving his remarks, the Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Dr. Femi Agagu while commending the group for instituting the scholarship programme to reward student’s excellence in academic said it is a laudable initiative.

Dr. Agagu who also appreciated members of the group for their selfless giving, said it is a seed that will be of immense benefit to the community and the state at large in due course.

While restating the state government’s strides in the educational sector, Dr. Agagu charged beneficiaries not to relent but to continue to pursue academic excellence.

Also speaking, a lecturer and former Provost, College of Education, Ikere Ekiti, Prof. Olu Aderounmi while encouraging the students to continue to put in their best  said he was not surprised by their performances as pupils and students in rural areas perform better academically than their counterparts in urban areas.

The highpoint of the event was the presentation of cheques to the students from six secondary schools in Akure South, North and Ifedore local government areas of Ondo State.

The beneficiaries for this year’s scholarship include:

1.DARAMOLA TOBILOBA- from Ijapo High School, Akure

2. OLUWAMODUPE MERCY-Omooluorogbo Grammar School, Akure

3. ADENIYI OPEYEMI-Ijo Mimo Oluwa High School, Akure


5. OMOBOYEDE ERICA-Ejioba High School, Oba Ile, Akure

6. FASINA TEMITOPE – Anglican Grammar School, Ijare, Ifedore

Also in attendance at the event include Prof. Williams Aderoumu, Kabiyesi Adekunle Ajanaku, Princess Adebola Balogun, Pastor Rachael Akintinde, Mr. Isaac Adu, representatives from the state ministry of Education, Science and Technology, school principals among others.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker