Copy this code and paste it between the and tags of your site:

ODIEC Rolls Out Comprehensive Schedule for 33 LCDA Election

...says no going back on Feb. 17th, 2024 for LG, LCDA Election

The Ondo State Independent Electoral Commission (ODIEC) has issued notice of timetable and schedule of election for the newly created 33 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) and ammended timetable for Chairmanship and Councilorship election across the 18 Local Government Areas of Ondo State.

Addressing representatives of all political parties as well as other electoral officers from the 18 local government areas of the state at a stakehokders meeting held on Tuesday, 3rd October, 2023 at the Commissions headquarters in Akure, ODIEC State Chairman, Dr. Joseph Igbekele Aremo affirmed the readiness of the commission to conduct transparent, free, fair and credible local government election.

Dr. Aremo who said there is no going back on February 17th, 2024 election dateline for both LG and LCDAs further noted that election will be conducted for chairman and councilorship across the 18 local government areas as well as for chairmanship position in the newly created LCDAs.

Going by the timetable for LCDA election, the collection of Form CF001 Affidavit/Personal Particulars of candidates starts 3rd – 6th October, 2023, the conduct of party primaries is to hold between 6th – 21st October, submission of Form CF001 is to end on 23rd October and as well collection of nomination forms is to take place between 23rd – 27th, October, 2023.

Also, political parties are expected to commence campaign by 17th November, 2023, an exercise that will end on 15th February, 2024.

In the amended timetable for the conduct of election in the 18 local government, the verification of candidates is to start 1st – 3rd November and campaigns are to end midnight 15th, February, 2024.

Responding, some of the representatives of the different political parties commended ODIEC for a job well done just as they assured that they will go back to their respective parties with all the details presented.

In separate remarks, Hon Olaide Rasheed, ADC State Chairman and the State PDP Publicity Secretary, Hon. Ikantu Perrete while assuring that their political parties have indicated interest in the election said they have taken the notice and will go back to the drawing board.

Some ODIEC Commissioners in attendance at this all important stakeholders meeting include Barr. Dele Akinyeure, Dr. Soji Omowole, Mrs Stella Omotosho, Prof. Tajudeen Ibrahim and Mr. Tunde Adeleye among others.

Earlier in his welcome address, the Administrative Secretary, ODIEC, Mr. Igbekele Jatuwase while welcoming all stakeholders to the commission assured that the commission will conduct a free, fair, credible and transparent election.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker